set layers visible one after another - math exp

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Set of 4 monsters for your metroidvania game (Bat, Slime, Snake and Carnivorous Plant)
  • Hi everyone!

I'm new with the construct2. So probably my question will seem rather silly but...

I have 15 layers, 3 bottomlayers are visible from the beginning.

I need to make the layers from 4 visible one by one.

When player has accomplished his task on one layer the following becomes visible. and so on.

when the last layer ends the game ends too.

I use families of objects. On each layer I have the same set of families, but differen objects from the family.

I need to activate only the objects which are on the layer which is visible at the moment.

So my guess that I have to operate via:

System -> set layer visible.

But I need then to apply the math formula which will set layers visible consiquently from 4-15. From this point I'm lost...

Could anyone give a hint?

Thanks in advance!

• you can do

System -> Every (x) seconds and replace x with the math formula?

System -> Set Layer Visible

Unless I'm understanding you wrong

• Yes, indeed RamPackWobble, something like that.

Only I need to stay the layers visible, once shown.

So by some experimenting - I deleted then the loopindex -> invisible

And that's working perfect!

Thanks a lot!

I have one more question though.

on each layer I have a number of objects which should be active only when the layer is shown for the first time. before the layer becomes visible or after the following is shown - the objects must stay inactive.

Could you give a hint on this, please?

• There was a similar question recently that would be worth reading through (here).

If you are doing what I think then I would add an instance variable to everything (eg called "ivIAmOnLayer" ?) which could be checked and appropriate action taken ?