RPG Dialogues???

0 favourites
  • 3 posts
From the Asset Store
Over 1700 16x16 pixel art RPG icons for item and skills
  • <font face="Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif">I am really new to Construct 2 (and making games in general) so there are tons of things I have no clue about. Recently I've been surfing the net a lot in the hopes of finding a tutorial that would teach me how to make dialogues like those you could find in every single RPG game. But of course, no luck so far. The kind of dialogue I'm trying to make is something like this:

1). It has a typewriter effect (where letters will appear one by one perhaps every 0.5 seconds).

2). In the middle of the "typewriter effect", if the spacebar is pressed then the whole text will be displayed (therefore ignoring the effect).

3). When the full text is already displayed, pressing the spacebar AGAIN will cause the next set of text to appear.

Could somebody give me a hand on this one? It would be really helpful!

Thanks!</font>

• Every developer goes through a process in which they must disconnect from how a process functions on the surface, and learn how to break a processes into technical components. It's the difference between knowing that text appears one character at a time, and knowing that the text object is set to display the left X number of characters in a string, where X equals the number of character already displayed in the text object + 1. Once you understand the technical building blocks, you can pretty much create anything you want. In my opinion, the fastest way to learn the building blocks available is to play around with C2, follow some tutorials, and make some practice games.

I don't want to sound too preachy, so here are a few tips to accomplish your goal: