Reset Global Variables at the End of the Loop

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
SynthWave Loop Pack includes 68 seamless loops, founded on 11 original melodies.
  • Hi, all.

How would I reset the variables used in a single spawn of some sprites?

Basically I have

Repeat 49 times

System block1_spawn (variable) does not equal 49 - make some blocks using h and y values

this spawns a horizontal line of blocks for me

I want to repeat the process/use the group again in another location (since it spawns only once because of the does not equal condition).

I would need to reset the variables **AFTER*** my block1_spawn variable reaches 49 in this instance.

I checked videos, tutorials, loopindices, system conditions, Googled it too, but I can't find this anywhere.

I am very new to programming. Could you provide an actual Construct 2 coding example?

• You could have a sub event in the loop that compares the loopindex to see if it has hit 49 yet - then call your action to reset your variable.

System -> compare two values

[Main loop is here]

---[loopindex = 49] (or 48 if you've used a 0 based beginning to the loop)

------ set global.variable to 0

~Sol

• Ok, let me try the code.

brb.

Owe you for the speedy response.

• I'm having a hell of a time finding loopindex to access. Found a post about some other peeps complaining that loopindex is name of the loop, not intuitive at all in Construct 2? Can't figure out how to code/access the code for this.

• It's an expression, so it will need to be used in something like "compare two values" or "is between values" which are system conditions.

loopindex will reference the current loop being run, so if it's a sub event to your loop (or used as an additional condition or action expression) then it will not need any reference to which loop.