How to "construct" an object name using variables

0 favourites
  • 14 posts
From the Asset Store
Easily store, modify, read and manipulate colors with Color Variables!
  • The subject doesn't explain it well but I will do my best here. So basically, let's say the user inputs number 75 and this gets saved to a variable called "userSelection". I want to be able to do something to an object called "item&userSelection" (item75). For example, spawn object at "item&userSelection&.X" (item75.X) if the user enters 75. I've tried everything I can think of and can't find any previous forum posts about this. Sorry if it's unclear, I'm not good at explaining stuff sometimes...

BTW, here is a picture of one of the things I tried and may help explain what I want to do.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwqZI88ckbEYODFEOHJSU3pSTHM/view?usp=sharing

Thanks Heaps!

• Does no one know how to do this? Or can anyone suggest a better way of doing it if you can't?

• I cant see your image all I get is

"

Google Drive

You need permission

Want in? Ask the owner for access, or switch to an account with permission. Learn more

"

• I've tried regenerating the link, any luck now?

(https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BwqZI88ckbEYODFEOHJSU3pSTHM/view?usp=sharing)

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Lol... uhh that image doesn't make sense to me for the question...

I would consider doing "Item"&userSelection when referencing it though.. then you can pop it out as a string should read Item## and that can be used to refrence in an array/dic if that's what your going for.

• and then "Item"&userSelection&".X"