Question about using a single event sheet on different level

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Adjusting the game screen for different resolutions (Letterbox scale)
  • Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to Construct 2, I started learning it about 1 month ago and it's really an awesome tool !

I started my first project and despite I read 100% of the manual, I still have some troubles for things that I thought would be simple. Here is my problem :

In my game project I have a character on the left side and 4 enemies on the right side, dispatched as follows (consider -------- are spaces) :

• -----------------------------E1-----------------------E3

Character

• -----------------------------E2-----------------------E4

I want the character to attack Enemy 1 or 2 a random. If the target is dead he will attack the enemy on the second row (i.e. E3 if enemy 1 is dead or E4 if enemy 2 is dead). Nobody moves. Until here it's very easy. My problem is that I have a good tenth of different enemies that I would like to be able to place wherever I want across tenths of levels. Moreover, enemies have very different sizes and shapes, and often overlap each other, making it difficult to pick an enemy by specifying a single point on screen which it overlap. So I have 2 questions that I'm really scratching my head with :

1) Should I use object instances when there is 2 (or more) times a single enemy on the screen? Up to now, my answer was "no", and I used 4 different object types because I felt it would be complicated to pick the correct object instance (and enemies also have random actions that they perform all together when using instances), while it's easy to copy-paste the events to make new object types. Or is it something that I'm missing?