How do I prevent my tactical game from slowing down and freezing ?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
15 High Quality SoundTracks, and 10 Fanfares for your game! :D
  • Hi,

I think I have a small optimization issue. I work on a very simple prototype: it is a town where zombies are hunting down civilians. I have a quite simple pathfinding and pursuit system but it does not work as well as it should.

I have 2 problems :

1- From 200 zombies on the map, the FPS is falling dramatically, first to 30-40 FPS, and the below 30 FPS. Can anybody tell me what is the reason ? (obviously it comes from the ZombieIA sheet)

2- The game will always freeze before 2 minutes et I can't see why (debug seem to be ok, although I am not an expert).

Can anybody give me some hints about what is wrong in my script ?

The capx is here : dropbox.com/s/v8jtuj0aozdztt2/ProjectZombie_Debug.capx

(if plugin is required, I use Rex's plugins : c2rexplugins.weebly.com/)

And you just have to launch TacticalMap and click on the Start Game button on the left.

Thank you ! I don't know much about optimization, but eager to learn ;)

• Your code needs to be optimized for such a big number of objects. And it's not only the ZombieAI, CivilianAI event sheet is just as bad...

You should avoid using "For each" loops on every tick for a big number of instances. First, pick suitable instances, then loop through them with For each. And don't run it on every tick.

So, replace this:

For each Zombie
    Zombie timer "follow" is not running
    Zombit is not eating
     -> do a whole bunch of stuff

With this:

Every random(1,2) seconds
    Zombie is not eating
    Zombie timer "follow" is not running
    For each Zombie
     -> do a whole bunch of stuff

Avoid using pathfinder too often for too many objects, avoid regenerating obstacle map too often. Consider making pathfinding cells bigger.