How do I pick random sentences from external .txt files

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Pick Up Items Sound effects for your game, Take them for a ride right now and you will worry no more.
  • Hi guys.

Construct new user trying to make a test game, progressing slowly. I would like to make a list of hundreds of sentences inside a .txt file.

For example ''the sky is blue'' or ''the flowers are beautiful" etc. I will add more text later as updates. Then i would like to pick random sentences from this .txt file and display as a text when the layout is started.

I've took the time to search , everyone is talking about array etc but i have no idea how to make it.

As a non text programmer I'm only using the sheet. Could someone help me to create the sheet?

Please only answer if you post a sheet screenshot, i cannot understand any form of programming languages for the moment. I'm ready to learn but step by step.

So to make it short i would like to see

1.the sheet screenshot

2.the .txt file form ( comas or brackets, line spacing etc etc)

Thanks in advance.

• First you need to make your array file. Open a blank notepad and paste in the following:

{

"c2array":true,

"size":[1,3,1],

"data":[ [ ["sentence 1"],

["sentence 2"],

["sentence 3"],

["sentence 4"]

]

]

}

Just replace sentence 1 etc with your sentences. Then change the 1,3,1 part at the top so the 3 is equal to the number of sentences that you have -1.

When you're finished save the .txt file as .json

After you are finished with that, let me know and I'll show you how to put it into your project.

• Hello, the .json file has been created.

• Ok, the first thing you'll want to do is in your project click on the layout editor (Just like if you were going to add a new sprite to the project) and add the AJAX object and the Array object.

Then go to the bottom right of the screen and in the Projects panel right click on Files then click on Import Files. Import the .json file to the project.