Performance in Android & CocoonJS

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Firebase: Analytics, Dynamic Links, Remote Config, Performance, Crashlytics on Android, iOS & Web Browser
  • Hi everyone. I?ve been using Construct for a few years now, but still I don?t consider myself a Pro user, I?m adapting to the "2" version the best I can, but my programming and scripting skills are close to 0.

Anyway, I manage to create a simple game and make it work on my Android cellphone using CocoonJS platform.

The thing is, that no matter how I try to make the graphics smaller and the code simpler, the final APK is a lot bigger than the normal apps of the kind. And the performance is really poor.

If anyone could give me some direction on how to improve performance I would really appreciate it.

• Have you read the performance tips ?

https://www.scirra.com/manual/134/performance-tips

Could you tell me what kind of game you make ?? I have a lot of experience in creat a platformer game for mobile using cocoonjs.

• Hi! Thanks, yes I?ve followed this tips like a checklist.

The game is a set of mini-games tied up on a unifying theme.

There is one "smasher", one like top down space shooter, and a puzzle.

Im not using physics, particles, or effects.

Not using layers blend modes, only 2 to 3 layers per layout and only 12 layouts.

The only behaviors I use are: Sine, bullet, fade, rotate, drag&drop.

• Sine, and face maybe rotate behavior may cause the FPS down, as i can see here, the Sine behavior is the most cause down FPS. Check the " space blaster" in "example" folder, try to test it using cocoonjs, friend.

• Well this could be one major thing. Most of my enemies have Sine behavior in different configurations and at some point they come in hordes so I?m spawning like 15 to 20 objects with this behavior.

I?ll try to reduce the usage of it and test again. Thanks for the advise.

• Hi 3divison,