Can I pair one animation frame to multiple animation frames

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
Selection frame like in RTS games, works both on mobile and desktop devices.
  • Hello Scirra Universe!

I'm Keri, and I am new to using Construct 2 (in fact, I am new-ish to game development). I have been playing around with Construct 2 for a while now, read through hundreds of posts, and watched numerous tutorials. I am ready to make my game, but before I do, I have a question about matching, or pairing items by frame.

I recently watched through all of Kittiwans' tutorials for the Memory Match Game (if you still view the forums, thank you so very much for making these tutorials). In the video, she mentions one way of pairing up two cards which is great (animation frames side by side), however, I need something (that in my mind) is way more complicated... hopefully not. After 3 days of searching - using about 1000 different search terms, and a day of just "trying things" in Construct 2, I need your help!

I would like to know if there is a way to pair cards by using only their animation frame numbers? I want my first animation frame to make a match with all the following animation frames, and all the other animation frames to only match with the first animation frame. (frame0;frame1)=match; (frame0;frame2) = match; (frame0;frame3)=match etc.

For instance: I have my CardBack and CardFace animations. Under CardFace I have 2 different types of cards - my letter card (first frame) and my word cards(remaining frames):

(1st frame) the letter (a); (2nd frame) word that begins with a (aardvark); (3rd frame) word that begins with a (apple); (4th frame) word that begins with a (anchor) etc. --it will continue on with b--- (5th frame) letter (b); (6th frame) word that starts with b (bat) etc.