Need help understanding waiting within loops

0 favourites
  • 12 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • I'm attempting to create some basic AI using a state machine, I'm fairly new to construct so please bear with me. I have it working up to the point where I need to increase a worker's load_Water value by 1 and subtract 1 from area.water every 1 sec. It increases instantly, i guess because it's looping but, at this stage my understanding of how to pause a loop for a certain amount of time is pretty foggy.

Any advice would be much appreciated, thanks.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/8zed7y7qq2wi52n/looping-problems.png?dl=0

I'll try and knock up a capx if the image doesn't help.

• It increases instantly

You need to pass the loopindex as parameter throughout all functions related.

Another thing is, Loopindex start with 0, so basically you have "wait 0 second" for the first one because 4*0.

• thanks for your reply and it sounds like it might work but, unfortunately I don't know how to pass the loopindex as a parameter.

• Download link is not working.

• Sorry about that II have edited my first post

• thanks for your reply and it sounds like it might work but, unfortunately I don't know how to pass the loopindex as a parameter.

It's the same exact way like you did for worker.UID and area.UID, but this time you pass it as loopindex.

I thought that was straightforward.

• It probably is

I just need to increase my understanding of how loops work.

So, in the move_to_water function, when I call collecting_water I should add loopindex as a parameter?

Then do I need to use this at "worker load_Water < worker.load_Water_max" for the wait?

• Instead of using waits, you can reorganise some small things to make it work.

Since you are using states for your workers it should at least from what I can see in the screenshot be fairly easy to do.

In:

function "Move_to_water"