How do I move slowly?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
This is a code so you can see the same skin on all screens (peers). Each peer gets a skin, in addition to 4 directions t
  • I am a newbie and so this might be a very obvious question.

I want a sprite to move down 50 pixels when a certain condition is met. I have tried using "move at an angle" but it's too abrupt. I want to be able to see the movement. I have tried to use "8 movement" but didn't get anywhere. Using "8 movement", the sprite starts moving down and keeps moving. It doesn't stop after 50 px. So what do I do?

Thanks.

• Try Set y to self.y+50*dt

• Thanks for your reply. So quick too.

I tried your suggestion and made this capx.

But it doesn't work properly. The sprite now moves slowly and smoothly but it doesn't always stop in the right place. I am sure I am missing something but can't figure out what.

The file is below if you'd like to check it out. Thanks.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/6z397fr1x4el0dd/Movement.capx

• The coordinate of the layout starts with 0,0 in top left corner.

All objects have an x,y value thats fits it.

So if you want an object to move Down 50 pixel, you can just add X-amount to y. To move up you subtract X-amount from Y.

So in your case to make it very simple, you can store store the current X,Y value of your object. And every 1 sec for instant, you move the object X-amount in the direction you want to. And then test:

starting value - current value > 50

If thats the case you stop the object from moving. This check you just put in the event/function that handles movement of the object. And modify it so it fits the different directions you want it to move.

Then it will slowly move in that direction.

• The coordinate of the layout starts with 0,0 in top left corner.

All objects have an x,y value thats fits it.

So if you want an object to move Down 50 pixel, you can just add X-amount to y. To move up you subtract X-amount from Y.