Memory card game issue...

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
Card Game
$49 USD
Card Game Sound Effects Kit delivers the right variety of sounds to outfit your game.
  • I'm creating a memory card game and I can't really solve how to do the following:

I have 20 objects and they all have ID Variables set to 0 as default. I would need these objects to randomly pick a value between 1-10 and make sure that there's always two objects with the same ID.

• I'm no expert at Construct but I would have done something along the line of this (it picks cards at random instead of assigning a random value and is flexible since you can place any equal number of cards in the layout, not only 20):

#Global values, ho!

Global number cardIDs = 1

Global number cardCount = 0

#Count the number of cards and store in global value

On start of layout

• set cardCount to number of cards in the layout (card.Count)

#Assign the IDs to cards that don't have one (ID = 0) at random

cardCount > 0

card ID = 0

Pick a random card instance

• Set (card) ID to cardIDs
    • Subtract 1 from cardCount
    • Add 1 to cardIDs

#This resets the ID enumerator halfway through assigning

cardIDs = (card.Count/2)+1

• Set cardIDs to 1
  • McKack Thanks. I tried to figure out your method, but I didn't get it.

Instead of cards, I have these holes where you can pull out vegetables and try to find pairs for them. These holes have an ID to tell which vegetable to create.

• Perfect opportunity to plug my Memory match video tutorial series. You'll find a link to the completed project there if you just want to look at a working example. And you can try it out on the Arcade under Example games.

Instead of cards you'll use your "holes" for the card back animation and your veggies for the card face animation. Cute!

Edit: In the globals event sheet you should see where you can change the number of rows and columns and total number of "cards".

• I would do something along those lines :