How do I load custom levels with JSON and arrays?

1 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Unlock Levels, Worlds & skin plus add coins by watching ads
  • I'm implementing a level editor into my game, and I've gotten stuck on the save/load function. I'm trying to make the custom levels as simple as possible by having a single JSON file to load to. To accomplish this, I've made several arrays for each object type (coins, obstacles, etc), and then I have a master array that saves the JSON of each array on its x-axis. Then I add another x value for the JSON of the tilemap. My first few tests seemed to work, I could move objects around and then reload the level from the JSON file. However, I quickly ran into problems that I can't identify the source. The Tilemap does not load any data, but also doesn't clear itself, so the tile data from the previous level remains. Sometimes objects duplicate themselves multiple times, or fail to spawn at all. When they do spawn, their height and width are all messed up.

capx is here if you wanna take a peek and help me out. All the data you're looking for is in the EDITOR layout and event sheet. There is another saving/loading group that is disabled; it's an earlier system I tried using system save states, but it was also not without its issues.

drive.google.com/file/d/1qyT8soZvwN-WpgXEh9aUDXVFlMcPDXAy/view

If someone actually took the time to dig in, fix and optimize my system, I wouldn't mind throwing them some money through paypal or something. Thanks in advance :)

• I can open your capx as it uses 3 Plugins, but looking at your Picture of the Events this is what I see

On your Function "On Save" you are downloading the JSON Array "edit_objectdata_AMASTER" before you save all your Info of the Objects of the Level, The Array "edit_objectdata_AMASTER" download AsJson it should be at the last Event after you save all the Info on it.

Also on the same Function "On Save"