How do I implement drag/drop?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Use inertion of your movements to throw, rotate your objects and etc. Objects can interact with others while dragging.g
  • I'm new to Construct 2, I'm trying to implement a fairly simple drag and drop. On the left of the screen, there are 8 text sprites. On the right of the screen is a product label - the user must drag the correct text sprites to the correct position on the product label. If they release the text sprite in the wrong position, it should snap back to the left of the screen. If its in the correct position, it should get them positive feedback.

I have the text sprite loaded and draggable. but I don't know how to evaluate a condition when the mouse is released. I am planning to put a full screen sprite on the lowest layer - if the text label is dropped there it should snap back to the left of the screen. On one layer above that I'll put 'target' sprites for each of the text labels, and if they are 'overlapping' when the mouse is released I would like to set the text X/Y to position it properly on the label.

At this point I'm stuck on evaluating whether the user has dropped the text label over the correct sprite. Can anyone tell me what I should be using to evaluate that condition? I'm thinking something like this: "IF textLabel1 is overlapping TextLabel1Target THEN "good work!" ELSE snap it back to the labels start position"

Any tips appreciated. Thanks

Ronm

• Quick and basic example.

There are 2 ways of doing it in the example checking if the "animation frame" is equal - Toggled disabled.

Or by checking if the 2 local variables are equal.

[attachment=0:18wo8h3b][/attachment:18wo8h3b]

• Hello Minor:

Thanks very much for that file! I've learned a lot from it, still need to dissect it a bit more.