Help with player movements

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Basic Rounded Vector Geometry Player Design with Glow for 3 player games
  • Hi guys, im completley new to construct 2, im trying to create a game were the player has the ability to walk, run, jump, crouch, roll and tiptoe.

If i could give an example of my players functionality, i would like him to have the same controls as abes odyssey.

I would like to achieve the following.

right and left arrows = walk

up arrow = jump

down arrow (pressed once) = crouch and stay crouched

Up arrow (from crouched position)= stand back up again

left and right arrows when crouched = roll/crawl (to get through tunnels or dodge bullets etc)

I am very new to construct, but if i can get this step finished then i will be very happy and start overcoming some of the games play-ability (enemies, puzzles etc)

I am a quick learner, but if you choose to help me then it would be good if you could present your information in a simple manner.

I do have all the animations ready. Just need some form of event setup.

Also, if anyone wants to throw anything in about snapping my players movements to a grid, that would be ace.

I dont want my player to be able to move around whilst in the air, I would like my player to be able to grab onto ledges and pull up.

Basically, if i could copy the player functionality of abes odyssey that would be a great start for me.

Cheers guys.

• If you're asking for a packaged solution, then you're in the wrong place. If you're asking for advice: do the intro tutorials, read everything in the manual, trawl the forums and just start working on something.

You've already got the basics mapped out in your head by the looks of things, so I'm sure you'll put together something sooner than you'd expect.

We're here to help if you get stuck with any specifics, but showing that you've put in some effort first is a good idea.