How do I ...Get better at pixel art/Graphics

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Over 1700 16x16 pixel art RPG icons for item and skills
  • Hey guys,

So im an ex web developer , I still dabble in it now and then , So construct is perfect for me as I understand programming logic but I don't know any game programming , or limited .

The only problem I have is I have a lot of ideas which are gunna be let down with my art skills , You can see in my game zombie dodger that my pixel art skills are extremely basic at best. Any tips on how to get better , or make some thing half decent to atleast interest the player.

I dont want my ideas for games go to waste because of my crappy pixel art/graphics skills.

By the way im quite efficient with photoshop etc, but find making sprites etc hard.

Thanks!

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • You get better at it by doing more of it, and learning from your mistakes. So part of the process is figuring out what is more appealing or less appealing regarding aesthetics and style, etc, and other art principles. It is also intuitive as well, so when you develop more finesse, you become able to experiment with things easier and find out what looks better in your own opinion.

There's plenty of tutorials on the net to get your started off with common practices when creating pixel-art. I helped create a lot of the understanding regarding pixel-art, as I was very active early 2000s when the main pixel-art forums were developing and discussing pixel-art. Most of what people tell you about pixel-art today hasn't changed much since then, so there is a lot of tutorials repeating the same things.

Practicing traditional art will also help exercise your observation skills, etc.

• I am a lousy artist when it comes to sprites especially shading but I can create just about anything using sketchup and turn that into a sprite.