Fruit Ninja Style Curved Slash?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Great quality fruit and slice items (png+ illustrator files)
  • I've managed to create a slashing mechanic but when I studied Fruit Ninja's, it seems like they created this curving polygon ish looking stroke that follows and trails behind your movement.

Could you anyone give me advice or point me to the right direction to create something similar to this?

• Yung: It may not be what you're looking for, but I was thinking you could have a particle object that moves with the mouse/touch stroke, emitting particles along the way. If you setup the particles correctly, the ones emitted first (at the beginning of the slash) would fade out first. The radius of particles could be small so it doesn't look like a burst but rather just a streak.

Another way might be to have a sprite image that stretches from the initial mouse/touch point to the termination point via scaling or just adjusting the width.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • space Ape: Thanks for the idea! I tried the particle, though it seems promising, it wasn't exactly what I needed. Besides the settings to get near what I want would not be good for performance. But it's definitely a good start.

I already have that one effect for the slashed effect, but for the slashing effect, I was looking more for a solution that allows curving.

• Proper curving is difficult. The only possibility I could think of would lie in the unofficial Canvas plugin but even then it's iffy.

Of course, there's probably a way to fake it reasonable well with segments, but that might take a bit of trial and error.