Epic gem game w/ animation - How do I set image, position...

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Enchanted Forest & Cave 16x16 Tilemap with Environment Sprites
  • Hi all, I am new to Construct 2 as well as game engines. I am writing a game similar to Puzzle and Dragons (I have not enough points to post the links to its simulators but you can definitely search one in Google). Please see the attached image.

I have written it in Java but how can I do this with Construct 2? I can upload the JAR if needed.

I have an array of 6x5 JLabels with instance variables (color, x-coordinate, y-coordinate). The is an ImageIcon for each JLabel (but we don't have such thing in Construct 2 but Sprite and Array).

I use mouse listener and mouse motion listener to trigger user mouse click position.

Requirements

It will have a touch area that looks like a 2D array, so I will have an array of 6x5 which each element is given its color, x-coordinate and y-coordinate (may also attach a Sprite to it).

On game starts, gems are having random color values and fixed positions.

Moreover, I will need an extra gem image for the action I pickup (click on) a gem and its position follows my finger movement.

In addition, two gem images are needed for handling the gem swapping animation. Their positions are set according to the circumference formula (points around the circle).

The array (or Sprites) should not have position swapped. Only their color (or images) are swapped.

Some functions I need include:

1. Change and update image (or image location) of Sprite according to the color instance variable (just like JLabel) 2. Get the exact touch position (instead of knowing the touch over an object) (just like MouseMotionListener) 3. Get the Sprite based on touch position 4. Animation concurrency