How do I draw shape and fill itself if unfinished?

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
An educational game for Fill in the Blanks. An easy to use template for developers to build larger games
  • I am a begginer (complete newbie btw), wanting to make a game were you draw a shape with limited use of ammount of area per total shapes ingame and after the shape is drawn by mouse input it is filled and closed automaticaly and falls into ground. I know its a hard one, but this question is driving me nuts finding a game engine that makes this easier, tried gamesalad and stencyl... Any clues guys?

oh, i tried the polygon plugin! nope, its not like that what I want.

• this brings me back to my old days of Amstrad coding... anyway

if the shape is regular (ie a box) then you could build a filling routine where you fill it up with predefined polygons (say a 1x1 image, or even better a 1x1 image that you can stretch to a width). what you do is a bit like a path-finding algorithm... you figure which side of the line is your box... and then you move left and right to find an edge (c2 can do that) and then you can move up and down. or you can travel along an edge and infill. It begins to fail with complicated shapes, and it will not be fast as writing it natively.

it's not easy but it is doable. I suspect it's beyond a beginner

PS: as an early newbie, I never got my fill algorithms to work correctly.

• ok guys, its as I suspected, but say I wanna simplify things and want to just create a square by making the diagonal (dragging like in photoshop or illustrator and create and fill the square) is it possible with the help of a plugin? I just need to make a good function for this game and easing the process with a plugin would be more doable... thanks for the answers anyway!

• Why not use the polygon object? It makes it very easy to draw a polygon. For example:

on mouse left click
    --- polygon: clear polygon

left mouse button is down