How do I disable player input for a moment?(Menu Problem)

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Basic Rounded Vector Geometry Player Design with Glow for 3 player games
  • Hello, this is my first post in this wonderful community.

I'm a musician trying to get into game design.

I don't know how to code but I'm good with game logic.

My favourite game genre is RPG, so I've started to make an RPG battle system in Construct for practice

(and who knows, might use it someday)

The system will be similar to Final Fantasy I and II (Turn Based).

I've started this project two days ago, and it's amazing how far it has come in such a short time.

I've got many things to tackle yet but for now I seem to have a very silly problem...

Well, when the battle starts, the game makes a window that holds the first battler's command information.

The player can select the command they want using the UP and DOWN keys on the keyboard (a cursor moves indicating the command),

Here is what normally needs to happen...

when you select a command, let's say "Attack",

the cursor moves to the enemy's graphic on the battlefield, and a window appears, with the name of the enemy on it. If the player presses A again, they have selected Partymember_1's action (If there are more party members they will have to select actions for them too if not, command phase has ended, and action phase begins).

While I have managed to make all the above stuff, something weird happens with the input.

The player doesn't have the time to press A to select a target, because the A key is pressed before...

I don't know how to explain this better...It's quite tricky...

The player is suppossed to press A twice, once to select "Attack" and twice to select the enemy they want to

attack.

But because the player pressed A to select attack, and the event condition is [When cursor is overlapping enemy1 and the A key is pressed] the game selects the target on its own...