How do I dash without platform behavior?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
In this template the music plays without looping in your game
  • Hello,

Sorry if someone asked this before. I searched around and saw a few threads about dash but I don't think that's what I'm trying to achieve.

I'm an artist / game designer currently working in a small indie studio. At the moment we're working on making different prototypes before we decide on one and fully develop it. The programmers are busy working on another prototype so I decided to check out Construct 2 and hopefully make my own and speed up the process.

I'm trying to make an action adventure game for the mobile devices. Where the character will dash in the direction the player swipes in. The character can only dash, there is no walk or run. Swiping up will jump up and swiping down will have the player jump down through a platform (if they're on one). The character's movement is essentially limited to an invisible grid. They cannot dash off a platform, which means if they're at the edge of a platform swiping off it will do nothing.

I was experimenting with platform behavior but it isn't exactly what I wanted to do. I'm experimenting with Set Position and Move Forward, it's closer to what I want to achieve except it cuts out the animation. But now I'm stuck with collisions. How do I make it so that the character can still bump into things and step on things? Adding solid behavior on objects isn't doing anything. I'm looking into On Collision with objects, am I on the right track?

Thank you for your help!

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I was working on something similar. You ll have to use a grid type of movement if you wanna accomplish this.

Im at work so I dont have the files with me but try something like:

use custom movement behaviour: