Custom movement

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Run and Jump in 3 Dimensions! Take your platformer to the next level!
  • Hello fellow constructers =)

Im new to construct and im enjoying it a lot, awesome tool, i already did some tutorials and im starting to getting the hook of it, and honestly got some practice with scripting (School). I wanted to emulate the move behavior of one of my favourite games ever, Ultima 7 (yeah! i know its awesome), for those who dont know ill explain:

-theres a mouse

-the mouse icon changes depending of the position around the player and the distance, the more near the slower, the more far the quicker

-the player sprite move in the mouse direction while mouse is clicking, so if you are clicking and move mouse the direction would change

I felt its harder than i think or could achieve alone, so if anyone could help me i would glady apreciate.

Thank you and sorry for my english, i know its bad =(

• Moving to a mouse click is easy. You can create instance variables. mouseX, and mouseY on the player. When the mouse is clicked you can set those values to Mouse.X, and Mouse.Y. Then you can create an event that will move the player to that position.

Make sure the mouse object is in the layout..

If you don't mind if they lerp there then:

set position event

in the x box

lerp(player.X, player.mouseX, 1 - 0.5 ^ dt)

in the y box

lerp(player.Y, player.mouseY, 1 - 0.5 ^ dt)

The mouse icon would be pretty easy too.

for the event you would do the cog wheel compare two values distance(player.X, player.Y, mouse.X, mouse.Y) <= x

set cursor to this image.. then you do another event for the second image.

X in this instance is replaced by the distance in pixels.

If you want the player to move fast when clicking far away... you can do an event.. if distance from

player.mouseX, player.mouseY > x

then lerp(player.X, player.mouseX, 1 - 0.3 ^ dt) -- see here 0.5 became 0.3, which is a quicker speed.