Creating Expressions

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
Add this awesome sound effects to make your visual novel come to life!
  • I'm relatively new to Construct 2, so forgive me if I'm just overlooking the obvious.

Is it possible to write expressions in Construct 2? What I mean by that is, write a mathematical expression that returns a true or false value. I've looked around the tutorials on System Conditions, and also System Expressions, but couldn't find what I was looking for.

What I want to be able to do is add a life every time the player gets x amount of points. I was hoping to find a plugin that would allow me to resolve it to an expression, much like you would with an "if" statement;

if(Score % x == 0)

{ ... }

I could do it by storing a counter variable that increases with score, and then once it reaches x, add to score and reset the counter, but it seems a bit convoluted, if I could do the same task without the need for an additional variable.

I'm not sure if what I'm asking is possible. I haven't seen a plugin I can use to write expressions that can resolve to a true or false state. I'm just trying to ensure that I use Construct 2 as efficiently as possible.

• you can compare two values in system conditions, and enter the expressions directly

• Yes, that's exactly what I was looking for. I was expecting it to be something I could enter a single expression into, but I imagine the same thing can be achieved by chaining additional logical operators into the second value field.

Got exactly what I needed now. Every time the player scores, I check if the score is exactly divisible by x. If it is, I add a life.

I'm so used to writing code that it's taking me a little time to adjust to the way Construct 2 events work.

• You can also make conditional expressions using operators. Refer to this page of the manual, under Operators.

• You can also make conditional expressions using operators. Refer to scirra.com/manual/78/expressions