How do I Create Skills for my characters and enemies?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Background Story generation templates. See the Arcade demo.
  • Heya all! im kind of new in construct and this is the thing , im trying to make a strategy turn-based RPG (kind of front mission for PS1) but i cant find the correct combination of expresions to create Skills ...and i believe i will have a complication or two more...but lets try to solve this one first hahaha...any ideas or pointers?

Thanks all for reading and helping!

• It depends on how complex you need those skills to be.

If it's just "Fireball Level 1-10" then you can use a simple instance variable "FireballLevel", set it to 1 and then increase this number as your character levels up.

If it's a complex skills tree with various upgrades etc,, you might need something like a dictionary or an array for this.

• Hey Keus!

If you just have a list of skills which increase in level, just use a dictionary which an entry for each skill and entry value for level. If you need them to have dependencies, like a skill/talent tree, use an array to store skills, their levels and their dependencies.

It's hard to be more specific without more info on your project.

Hope that helps. Cheers!

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • WoW! i really didnt expect ppl to actually answer me this fast!...first of all thank ou both for answer me i really apreciate, and well for the "hero" it would be nice to have a talent book (just a few skills inside that book) and for the enemies i would like them to have only 2 or 3 skills (and this is my other problem) how can i make them decide to (for example) attack or heal them selves or defend??.

dop2000 you said something bout a dictionary right? theres any post bout that u can recomend me to read?