How do I check if an array contains some words?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Supports 1D, 2D, 3D arrays. Import and export arrays in JSON format
  • Hi there,

I'm not too good with arrays (yet... ), so I hope someone can help me out here...

I'm working on a project in which a player inputs some words; these words are then added to an array.

Then a second player adds new words, but he has to use all the words that are already added to the array, therefore I want to check if all of the words in this array are used in some textfield.

The textfield may contain other words, but ALL of the words in the array should be used in the textfield.

I hope I'm making sense here...

Thanks in advance!

• https://copy.com/DKdeYAd8omHJzITq

add adds the words to the array

finish and compare will finish the "sentence" and compare if all words from the last finish and compare were present

note: you might want to add a lowercase conversion to not differentiate between "word" and "Word"

• Hi mindfaQ,

thanks a lot for the work you've put into this example!!

I've been able to reproduce the project (simply by typing what YOU typed )

Now I'll have to try to figure out what's really happening here...as I mentioned in my post: I'm not too good at arrays...

Any tutorials or 'reading stuff' you could suggest on arrays?

Thanks again!!

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • In this example the array is used just like a spread sheet. So imagine one.

First column = word

Second column = number of times it was present in the previous sentence

Third column = number of times it is present in the current sentence

(remember: first column has the Y-index 0)

Each word has its own row

Function add_words

* event 2: checks if the word can be found in any cell in the spread sheet (was already present in the previous sentences, so to say)