Changing sprite colours for customization

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Simplistic hyper-casual game with nature elements. Tap to switch between the 4 elements and reach a better score.
  • Hello, I was wondering if there is an easy way to let the user define individual colours for different parts of the character in a terraria sort of way (Never actually played terraria but I've heard about it). I know I could just use a few preset colours for each different part and just have them stay together in game. Is there a way to keep my sprite in one image and change colours based on the different colours of the sprite? More importantly, is there a way to change the colour of a part using given modification values input by the user (In any colour format (so long as it works))?

• Hi

I'm pretty new to this, but I also would like this feature in my game.

I made a practice game where all you do is pick character stuff, it's a work in progress. I've gotten to the first two hair styles.

dropbox.com/s/b5ucci68qtv2pp1/titlescreenpickhairmove.capx

I ended up making several animations for each item frame 1 is red, frame 2 is blue, etc and putting "select" buttons next to it and having the button scroll through the frames.

I think it's possible to set it up with the color choices as sprites, and then change the sprite effect hue to match the color.

For ex, you have a grid with 8 blocks, each one is a color sprite. When the user clicks sprite1, let's call it blue, the action would be hair -> set hue -> blue.

I'm going to try it that way, I'll let you know how it works out.

Please also share if you find something easier, colorizing them one by one and having the player scroll through is tedious to say the least.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads