How do I make a ball grow

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Bouncing ball
$9.99 USD
Template for a bouncing ball game, fully documented in comments and video
  • Hi everyone! I'm new to construct 2 (Just moved from GameSalad)

I don't have any programing skills (designer student here) although i've learn a few things from GameSalad. I'm currently struggling with setting up a really basic thing. I keep having bugs/crashing the browser.... so i decided i'd just ask if someone could help me out!

Me and my brother are trying to:

• Create a ball from pressing the mouse left-button. (Mouse event on Left Clicked -> Create object at (Mouse.X,Mouse.Y))
      • Make it grow while the mouse button is being held. (Here is where the problems begin... perhaps something like this: While event/Mouse Left button down event -> - Set object size: Width = Width + 1/Height = Height +1. We want it to grow exponentially)
      • Make the ball stop growing if it reaches a specific size or the mouse button is released
      • When the mouse button is released the ball goes in a random direction and bounces in the edge of the layout (My brother tought in something like setting the object as a bullet, with bounce enabled, but the ball goes away unless we set a 'wall' sprite and then coding it to set angle of motion = random(360))

I'm sorry this is probably a mess... but so is our head right now and we can't seem to figure this out...

PS: He said he published a topic already but just in case he wasn't specific enough. Oh, and sorry for any english mistake I may have made!

If you could help us I'd be really thankful!

• Welcome to construct 2

This is how I would go about the 1st part of your problem and I agree about setting up walls around the screen and giving the ball the bullet behaviour with bounce enabled.

I am sure there are other/better ways of doing this.