Arrays x Dictionary x Multiple Event Sheets

0 favourites
  • 2 posts
From the Asset Store
Be quick and choose the right answer for the shown equation.
  • Hello all!

I am kinda new to Construct 2 (and loving it, btw) and I always try to keep my code (or events, for this particular matter) as clean and tidy as possible. I would like to know what is the best approach option for two particular cases I am facing in my development in terms of performance and efficiency.

Case 1: The Player variables

I have this Player object with many attributes (namely Health, Power and Speed). I have to access those attributes from many different layouts because they will be changed by equipping items on menus and will also affect the game itself, during combat. I figured that I can't set those as instances variables for the Player object because they will be changed on layouts where the Player object is not present.

Then, I can either:

• set those values as global variables,
    • as a dictionary or,
    • as an X-only array

(if there are any other ways to setting these up, please let me know).

And set them "on load finished" or on my first layout.

Case 2: The slot system

I am setting up a slot machine system. Once every X seconds, 3 variables will be randomly set and, depending on their combination, give the Player a special power. I have to set up those individual powers manually (789 powers to go! Woohoo!), but I have to store their names, properties, damage and other attributes somewhere.

I can either:

• set them as local variables as I create their functionality on a (very huge) event sheet,
    • as an array, and access the array's properties when the slot machine triggers that specific power's index
    • set them as global variables on a separated event sheet, import that into the "Powers" event sheet and access them there.

These "Powers" would be set on "layout start" when the game level finishes loading (I guess?)