Arrays and my brain are not compatible - HELP?!

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • hi,

so i am new to arrays and i can't wrap my head around them because apparently i am to dumb or something.

either way, what i want is simple, but perhaps i am thinking too complicated.

i want an array that assigns three random, non repeating numbers to seven rows. i got it to work so that each of the seven gets ONE number, but i fail at giving them three numbers.

the idea is it to set up a cluedo style clue sheet. if you ever played cluedo you know what i mean. six players plus one murder get a set of cards each from a pool of 21 cards, so thats three cards per player plus three murder cards. and then you have to cross reference to find out what the murder cards are.

i am not trying to make a cluedo game, i am just trying to get the engine to assign the random cards, in this case numbers, to the seven card holders.

here is the capx of my test:

dropbox.com/s/k6cxl60gzcnmpxl/test2.capx

if you could help me in any way, shape or form to get this to dowhat i want, that would be great^^

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • EzekielRage

*too dumb (just kidding - my wife is a teacher and I am a terrible speller so I get corrected a lot)

rather than searching every time to see if a "card" has already been picked, it is easier to make a source array with all the available numbers (cards) in it, and delete each one out of the source array as it is dealt to a player...

https://www.rieperts.com/games/forum/Deal21Cards.capx

the SourceDeck is a one dimensional array - with 21 places in it to hold a number.

the PlayerDeck is a two dimensional array that has 7 rows with 3 columns

so, the players (x axis) are numbered 0 to 6, and each one has three (y axis) spots for a card number.