how do I add and subtract with mysql database

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Basic Plugins for Firebase Authentication, Realtime-Database, Firestore, Cloud Storage
  • Hello there!

I've looked around for my issue. I've found several tutorials and forum topics about highscores with AJAX and PHP. In other small games I've made that all works great. What I'm trying is not to achieve a new score but to add a score on top of a already excisting one. I'm not a coder, if someone gives me a head start that would be great to start with!

What I would like to achieve is the following:

On the inputpage I have a 'list' called names and a 'list' called numbers. What I would like to achieve is then when I press a button the amount in the list 'numbers is added to the present score in the MYSQL database of the person mentioned in the 'list' names. If the name doesn't exist it creates one.

Other thing is how to subtract and how to reset all scores to 0 in the database and how to show the scores of all persons on a page.

Many thanks in advance!

Ralf

• this is quite a custom necessity therefore you must write a program for it, a php script could be the best idea, since is simple to use. Start learning php and mysql and how to use php to execute query on a database

• Thank you for your reply.

After spending some time searching and trying I almost got it to work. I have found the following PHP file for saving a name & score:

<?php

$db = "";//Your database name
    $dbu = "";//Your database username
    $dbp = "";//Your database users' password
    $host = "";//MySQL server - usually localhost

$dblink = mysql_connect($host,$dbu,$dbp);
    $seldb = mysql_select_db($db);

if(isset($_GET['name']) && isset($_GET['score'])){

//Lightly sanitize the GET's to prevent SQL injections and possible XSS attacks
         $name = strip_tags(mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['name']));
         $score = strip_tags(mysql_real_escape_string($_GET['score']));