WAV conversion size problem

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
220 Food Sprites in 16x16 pixel size. Perfect for items for a retro style game.
  • Hi guys,

I am now close to completing my game, only left putting the music in. And now I am hit with a problem in an area that I have limited knowledge in.

I've read through the manual and forums that I should import music as a wav file and C2 will convert them into the required files. Many also recommend Audacity, which I just downloaded and try.

The problem now is that when I convert, the files become very big. For example: a 5MB mp3 becomes 37MB when I choose the 16bit PCM version. When I import it to C2 it adds only 2MB to the download according to C2. I tried the GSM wav for mobile but C2 can't convert it to OGG and m4a. I reduced the rate until 16khz (any lower and the size actually increased or it wouldn't work), and I was able to get it down to around 1.6MB. But that is really still quite big for just one music track, especially when I will need to use at least 7 music tracks.

Right now, my entire project stands at 10.2MB, including the sound effects (used the sounds provided by C2), and all my images, which include a few large ones for the slideshow movies. If I don't do anything about the WAV files, it will easily double my total size, which is definitely not good for a mobile game.

Please do assist, I am so close to finally completing my game.