Two issues with exporting graphics to HTML5

0 favourites
  • 7 posts
From the Asset Store
Footsteps SFX Two contains 450 sounds of steps and jumps on different surfaces.
  • Hello! I'm a long-time techie and coder, but new to Construct 2.

When I export a project to HTML5, I notice two issues with how graphics are handled:

1) The sprite graphics are stored as individual files and not compiled into sprite sheets (except for individual animated sprites). Doesn't this hurt performance, especially for games with large numbers of sprite types?

2) My JPGs are converted to PNGs. For large background images without transparency, JPG makes more sense than PNG. But C2 is automatically converting them and adding needless megs and loading time to my project. Is there any way to change this?

Any feedback or suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

• This has been covered more than once. Try search and look for Ashley's responses.

• 1) On one you are right. Ashley says one thing("don't worry about managing sprites") but he does do good sprite batching practisies by batching images into single sprites. Often by layer to reduce overdraw on WebGL calls.

If you can I suggest sprite batching into a single sprite object. And then use a variable and build the SOL by doing a compare on the object var... If your not sure what this is. I suggest going through the manual and some tuts

2) Well how you presented the information has you sound like your not 100% accurate. The JPG/GIF/BMP/PNG is only a storage model. Once the system unpacks the image into RAM it's all the same. So while JPG could reduce the download size. It's not really going to be a big difference unless you need that bleeding edge download. Most people don't need it. However if you need it. Just take the PNG in the export and convert it to JPG.

• This has been covered more than once. Try search and look for Ashley's responses.

Already did that. Did some more.

Found the setting to change a graphic to JPG export.