Questions about C2's capability

0 favourites
  • Hey, all.

I'm new to the video game development scene (been developing for tabletop before this), and as I look for tools to help me get started, I stumbled across Construct.

Without getting too in depth, the game I want to make is essentially a turn-based RPG, but without character sprites to interact with a town. Basically when you "walk into a town," you're presented with a map with all of the locations in town, and you'd click/tap one to go to it. Similarly, with combat, everything would move in a classic Final Fantasy sort of way. Fight, Use an Item or Run type deal. Dungeons would be selected from a bounty board menu of sorts, and travel between hub areas would be accomplished through an overworld map.

Is C2 capable of making something like this? It seems that the tools are more geared toward action-oriented games, and I haven't found much through scraping through the tutorials, but I'm not afraid of a little extra programming here and there (put that CSCI minor to use, I guess...).

Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer.

• Sure it is !

The big challenge is getting your events right , C-7 is working on a big RPG right now , and it's coming along pretty well !

Making an RPG can be a hard task , and is an extremely overambitious task , as your first project , but it's possible

Also , If your only needs are RPGs , you could aim for an RPG-based engine , like RPGmaker !

But at the end , C2 is the best !

Cheers , and I'm excited what the future holds us !

• What exactly is it that makes RPGs hard? Is it combat mechanics? Programming? Dialogues?