New to C2, some general questions

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Enlist the menacing fleet commander of the galactic star force in your next game audio production.
  • Greetings. My name is Matt. I'm an artist who has recently taken a lot of interest in game development.

I've been using another such program, Stencyl, for the past 8 months, learning it, getting pretty good at it. I'm generally not very good with programming concepts and math and so on, but through persistence I've been able to accomplish a lot.

I have some concerns, though, and I was curious about how C2 compared.

I'd like to show you a demo for a game I've been working on in Stencyl, and then state my concerns and pose some questions about C2. This is a metroid-style game, where you explore a large world.

It's highly unfinished, and note I've added artificial roadblocks to keep you guys from getting too far into the map. It's just not ready to all be seen yet.

You'll have to copy/paste this link, it won't let me set up a hyperlink:

http://www.ghostsonggame.com/playghostsong768hx_alt2.html

Z jumps (hold for higher jump), X shoots cannon (hold for charge up), C executes a dash (hold for longer dash). Note you can dash through bullets/enemies to avoid harm.

In addition, you can hit space to switch to alternate fire mode and try different weapons (cycle them with F).

(To find enemies quickest, go down the shaft and take the first left. The game structure is not really in place yet so you start with some powers and can't die.)

Concerns with my game in Stencyl: