Need Help Implementing @RamPackWobble 's Lighting System

0 favourites
  • 11 posts
From the Asset Store
Game with complete Source-Code (Construct 3 / .c3p) + HTML5 Exported.
  • Hello Construct community. I'm new to construct and game dev in general, so please pardon if I violate some construct forum norms. I recently came across RamPackWobble 's Land of Light and Shadows tutorial: .The first 2 parts aren't necessary to my game, but the 3rd is. If you haven't read the tutorial please do, it's amazing. So here's my problem; I tired incoperating the lighting system into my platformer stealth type of game. The idea is the layout (think of it as a building) is divided into various segments (rooms) which have to sneak though. All the segments (rooms) in the layout are dark, unless, a light is on, in which case the room is lit. The light stays in that segment (room) only, obstructed by doors, walls, and solid ground. Some light may sip into the next room if the door between those two rooms is open (ie solid disabled). A well placed obstacle can also create shadow. I tried 3 methods listed in the his tutorials, (1) the line of sight full grid method, (2) line of sight full cone method, and (3) the cast light arc method. The line of sight cone method was my least favourite since its possible for light from one room to move into another room, therefore you'd have cones overlapping each other, and remember the whole layout is dark meaning a cone would have to be created for each light. In the end (in my case) im better of using the less complex method and using the line of sight full grid system, covering the whole layout in a grid of lights which are activated when an on light has a line of sight to them (which I also tired. I'll get back to that in a moment). I tired the cast light method, which seemed promising, except for a couple of things; (1) the walls and ground which the rays of light collide into, are long, and there origin is in the center. This affects the distan