Integrating APIs

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
  • As you might know, there are (besides the big players like steam) some open platforms for casual/indie games. One of them is Kongregate

They offer an relatively easy to use API, supporting ActionScript 2/3 and Javascript.

Have a look at the Javascript API. How could it be integrated to C2?

Following the link, you can see that they also offer a html shell to make things easier. You need to embed the game in order to use the shell, of course. Does this work with C2?

In addition, there's the server-side JSON API, used for payment, high scores, badge feeds, etc. Again, how would that be integrated?

I know, that the API works for non-flash games, as I have tested several Unity games there. But I'm an absolute beginner when it comes to Javascript/html5.

• Anyone?

I'm not looking for a complete solution to this problem, just a description of the way it would have to be done, maybe with some keywords that I can then google for. Or a statement that it isn't possible.

• I'm not a kongregate user, so I don't really know how it works on their site.

From what I can see, I'd say you would have to modify the index.html file of an exported project and add the line:

<script src='http://www.kongregate.com/javascripts/kongregate_api.js'></script>

With the others "scripts" lines.

That would allow the API to be available to your application.

The tricky part would be using

// Load the API
    var kongregate;
    kongregateAPI.loadAPI(onComplete);

// Callback function
    function onComplete(){
      // Set the global kongregate API object
      kongregate = kongregateAPI.getAPI();
    }

That initiates the kongregate's API in conjunction with the already present code that launches the C2 runtime in index.html.

// Start the Construct 2 project running on window load.
            jQuery(document).ready(function ()
            {
                // Create new runtime using the c2canvas