Good idea to get a freelancer to finish my project?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
With this template you can create your own archer game and customize it however you want.
  • Hey guys.

Just a bit of exposition: I'm working on a freemium card game app which will have online multiplayer matches, account registration and profiles, and a few pay-to-use aspects (card-back art and so forth). I plan on releasing it on the App Store and Google Play. I have created and assembled all of the graphics and sounds I need to create the app, and I have created a mock-up of the app from start to finish. I have no background in programming apart from a college course or two.

Now, I found C2 and I've been working on learning how to use it, and I'm getting the hang of it. I'm slowly turning my idea into an actual game that you can interact with.

However, I mentioned before that I will have: account registration/profiles, online matches, and paid-for content. I believe it will be very hard for me to get a grip on how to do that kind of thing, so I believe the wise option is to outsource those parts of the project.

So, basically my plan is to complete as much of the game as possible that I can do on my own, and then outsource the harder parts to a freelancer. This way, I shave off some of the work (and money), and the app will have the layout and look that I want. I can just drop it on someone's desk and say: "make the online thing, the registration, and the paid content work".

I do have a few questions though, to see if my plan is feasible:

1. Would my pool of labor be limited to people who are already familiar with C2? Could any old programming freelancer pick up my project and do what I need, or would I have to look for help specifically within this community?

2. How much would such a thing cost? How long should it take for the freelancer to complete his task?