Flask pyhton framework and Scirra. An experiment.

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
  • Hey everyone, I have been lurking for a while but would like to share my enthusiasm for Construct 2. I am about to embark on a project using Scirra to develop a front end for an app with a python powered back end.

I am a novice construct user and my java script is limited, however I have been using python for a while now and I am creating the back end with the Flask pyhton framework.

I would like to share my experiences during the project if anyone is interested.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • I've been working on something similar tbh although I've been using the twisted libraries for python. Makes a lot of the networking aspects nice. although I'm not sure how the event driven aspect with work with Construct2 atm as far as network based communication.

• Just resurrecting this, the project is underway now so expect some more info soon.

• Please do let us know how it goes - if there are any obvious missing features to make this work we might be able to add them in to a future release!

• Hey Ashley and co,

Apologies for leaving this thread for so long. Been some crazy stuff going on so have been looking after my boy full time for a while.

I have made some wonderful progress so far and I think flask and construct are a lush match for anyone wanting to move away from php or who already have python experience from construct 1.

I will write a complete tutorial to help people get started when I have the time however I will share some of the possibilities now.

Also I have a missing feature for you Ashley: The ability to set custom save paths for the runtime file so that it doesn't need to be manually edited, no biggie but it speeds things up:

On a flask site the folder structure is like this:

app.py (in the root)