Can C2 be used for blending two music tracks?

0 favourites
  • 8 posts
From the Asset Store
Footsteps SFX Two contains 450 sounds of steps and jumps on different surfaces.
  • The old Variable mix thing, where the boss's theme gets louder as he wins, and the hero's theme gets louder as you win. Can you play two Music files at the same time? (The manual references multiple sounds, but I don't believe it mentioned multiple music files). If it is possible, will starting both Plays at the same time cause them to start at the exact same time? (So that, if they're the same tempo, they'll stay in time with each other?)

Thanks

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Hi, perhaps I am not qualified to answer you, I am new to construct.

The software is capable of playing simultaneously many sound files (I am guessing the limit has to be set bu the hardware), and it doesn't matter if they are contained in the sound or music folder. The difference is that the audio files that are referenced as "music" are being streamed while the game is running, while the ones that are in "sound" will be downloaded the first time they will be triggered and there will be a delay until you listen them.

That being said, I tried to make an example where two looping sounds should play in sync and that doesn't happen. I made the loops my self and I know that they are correct. Perhaps something is being messed up upon the conversion into ogg/m4a format, I don't know.

Never the less, a crude but effective way to achieve what you want is to use two instance variables (one for each object, player-enemy) that are linked with the volume of the corresponding music track. Every time an object is being hit, it receives some x value of damage, a value that can be translated to a degree of db subtraction.