C2 just for prototypes?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
A cool way for kids to write and practice English Alphabets
  • I've seen a lot of comments in the forums and other sites that C2 is just for prototypes. One example of this is the quote on the main site of scirra:

"I'm a designer and painter with a great passion for games. Construct 2's ease of use allows me to rapidly prototype my ideas and sketches.

"Carlos Monteiro, Gigoia Games

Is all of this true? If I want to make good games I need to use a programming language like c# or something?

I've been using C2 for like 6 months now and I dont have the feeling that I need something else.

I feel unsure now.

• Those are developers who already are fluent in at least one programming language. For those, it is better to prototype a game in C2 first to see if their idea is good, then they develop it in a native environment for the performance and security.

That doesn't mean C2 cannot be used to release games.

• Lots of people do use C2 for prototyping since you can mock up game ideas really quickly, but we aim to design C2 to be capable of publishing professional quality games by itself. It's not just for prototyping!

• I don't read the sentence in that way at all! The whole point of prototyping is that you can quickly decide whether your game is viable, or more importantly FUN! Construct 2 allows you to discover this in a matter of minutes. If I have an idea, I will prototype the game in C2. I just use boxes or arrows for characters. You then start fleshing out the idea, replace the prototype sprites with detailed images, and add in the other code.

Construct 2 is already a complete package. It just gets better and better as time goes on.

• I am using C2 to prototype with at the moment, I have been creating commercial casual and indie games in other languages for quite a few years things such as pascal, c#, monkey, objective c to name a few.