Beginners Quesion: Problem with Layouts

0 favourites
  • 10 posts
From the Asset Store
The perfect way to start development of multiplayer games
  • Hello, im new to this program and are very soon done with my first game.

I was using only one layout and then when i were going to complete the game, i added my second Layout with a Eventsheet.

I asume the evensheet follow the layout and only aplies to that one?

Hence, Layout2 follows the instructions on event sheet 2?

To the problem, i must missunderstand something about layouts, because i use layout 2 for the menu and then when i click start, it changes to layout 1 for the game. Problem is that it dosent count variables as it should be. Ive set for some variables to count and give limits to how many objects that there may be, but those dosent work.

Anyone that can help and explain what im doing wrong?

Ill try this way, before uploading the game.

(i use no scripts, only the eventsheets) <- and like to keep it that way.

• If you could post your capx, it would be easier to spot on what went wrong.

From the sound of it, I'd say select your layouts in the "Projects" tab and make sure that their "Event sheet" property links to the intended events sheet.

This might be a first thing.

Another thing is the order of the layouts.

If you have some variables and code for these variable set in event sheet 2/layout 2/Menu in you case and that you start directly the program on layout game, the whole code about the variables won't act indeed, since the layout they are in never got initialised.

Make sure that the correct layout is selected as "First layout" property of the project itself.

• I still cant get it to work.

Here is the game.

GAME

• Your code is pretty messy, it's hard to get into it.

You're setting no variable in the menu layout, so there's nothing there, the variables are setted in Game sheet anyway.

So the problem must be elsewhere.