Basic Noob Scirra Question

0 favourites
  • 13 posts
From the Asset Store
Construct the user interface of your game with these universal buttons.
  • I'm a noob 2D game developer considering Construct...

I've spent a few months learning Game Maker and I love it, but it has zero console support and that's just dumb. So as my game project gets more serious I realize I don't want to limit my audience nor design the game twice. Unity 2D support is introduced, so I move on.

I spent a month learning Unity. I hate it. Even with the 2D tools it sucks for a tilebased game. C# is kicking my butt. Progress is ridiculously slow. I miss actually making my game. I go back and play what I built in GM. I was doing so good and having so much fun and Unity has sucked that out of me.

I consider going back to GM. Still no console support. Zero. That's so dumb. WiiU can play HTML5 games. GM can export HTML5 games. Yet GM cannot export WiiU games. That's so dumb.

Ok, Construct looks cool. No Xbox or PS but it exports to WiiU. I can live with only one console. Hell I'd be thrilled to get a game on one console. People say GM can do more but I'm making a fairly simple 2D tilebased game (though a little graphics heavy).

Construct cannot export a windows executable. You have to play your game in a web browser. What????????????

For real? No executables? The windows and mac icons are just for show?

• C2 can export executables via node webkit.

• First, If you want Game Maker info, ask the Game Maker community not the C2 community. If you want C2 info ask the C2 community not the Game Maker community. Wich you are. Good for you. Regardless of what information you hear remember to temper it with a healthy dose of logic.

So saying that.

C2 can export to NodeWebkit. NodeWebkit is a self exucutable app only browser. So in that respect it offer C2 to export to .exe... as a script game. In user world you might as well consider it compiled to native platform.