Is the array object completely broken?

0 favourites
From the Asset Store
This is a single chapter from the "Construct Starter Kit Collection". It is the Student Workbook for its Workshop.
  • Hi,

I've been using Construct 2 for several years now, but this week I had to deal with the Array object for the first time.

For some reason, I can't seem to get it to work right. Despite having experience with arrays from several programming languages, I can't seem to do so much as get a simple 3D array up and running without getting strange results or even complete browser freezes.

I've asked around on IRC and even made a topic containing an example but haven't had much luck getting a response.

I guess my question is, is the Construct 2 Array object working as it should, allowing you to insert values and iterate through it as you normally would in other languages? Or are there known issues?

You can check out the above mentioned topic for a specific example.

Any comments?

• The definition of coincidence right here. I just decided (like 3 days ago) to create 3D Array Plugin that uses a named convention system (Dynamic Storage) for the exact same reason as working with the array plugin as it is wasn't working the way i would expected it to coming from a traditional programming languages.

The plugin is still beta but should work the way you expect. I have an example capx that I use for testing each feature that is list below. You should be able to quickly see how it works.

Heres the plugin

[attachment=1:3tdmevyv][/attachment:3tdmevyv]

And heres the example capx i use to test its features as i add them

[attachment=0:3tdmevyv][/attachment:3tdmevyv]

A screen shot of what it looks like in use.

[attachment=2:3tdmevyv][/attachment:3tdmevyv]

Hopefully this helps

• Thanks for the response.