[Solved] Where to properly use the While condition?

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
  • So far, every time I've used it, it would create an infinite loop, causing the game to hang. What's worse, any tabs open at that time, including those on separate windows, would freeze, meaning I couldn't do anything on them; although I could close them though, there's a long delay between clicking the X and the tab actually closing, and in one instance just earlier, with the actual game, it wouldn't close at all. But newly opened tabs run just fine. I'm using Firefox if that helps.

Edit: here's the problem script. Notice that the Stop Loop action is disabled:

Here's the question: what would be proper examples to use the While condition in? I just don't understand it.

I don't want to go through any more trial and error, and I've found searching unreliable; either too many results for me or not what I wanted.

Please excuse me if this is a bad question; I'm new to C2, so you can expect me to make at least one newbie mistake, like potentially this one.

Thank you for your support.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Hard to say where you're going wrong if you don't provide at least a screenshot of how you have used the while event. That way you will get much better feed back on how to avoid an Infinite loop or even have a better way to do what you're trying to achieve with it suggested

• Construct2 is already a giant while loop. The script repeats 60-times a second. You almost never need a while-loop. Run though the tutorials - they should help clarify how the engine works.

https://www.scirra.com/tutorials/top

• A while loop is used to repeat an action an indefinite amount of times within a single frame until an additional condition is not meet.