Randomized AI cars + functional traffic signals: Doable?

0 favourites
  • 4 posts
From the Asset Store
Create your own Behaviors in Construct 3 using events! Custom Expressions, Signals & Triggers Behavior Addon Pack
  • Dear all:

I am part of a non-profit program for kids' safety. One of my pet projects is to bring a safe walking game to the program, based around real life scenarios. Enter Construct 2 and my willingness to learn a program I've never worked with before. That said, I've worked with simple code in Microsoft Train Simulator and PHP for Wordpress before, so the theories behind code principle and event hierarchy are not entirely foreign to me, and Construct 2's learning curve hasn't been too difficult up to now.

However, I've come to a bit of a standstill with AI control; hence, before I try to go any further with the game project, I thought I'd ask if my goals are even remotely possible.

At present, the game places a player (with 8-position control) on the sidewalk on a top-down map, with single-lane streets and bike lanes in either direction. The street, bike lane, and sidewalk are all individual objects. Each crosswalk signal has two animations (walk/don't walk, alternating between each direction), and each traffic signal has three (green/yellow/red), and the animations are timed together so that the automobile traffic light is red when the crosswalk is safe to cross. The walker/player is at the left, on the sidewalk:

The green lines are solids, there to assist me when trying pathfinding experiments.

The behaviors applied to each BlueCar sprite are: Solid / Car / LineOfSight. I also have max/minimum speeds listed as instance variables.

The above is the rough map of where I've been able to get after a few days of fiddling with the program, but I've been having nothing but problems trying to work out AI.