How do I prepare to create a big 1000+ event game with free?

0 favourites
  • 6 posts
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • Hi guys, I'm fairly new to construct 2 and thinking of buying it pretty soon.

I don't really want to put the money down until I think I have something worth investing in though.

I intend on making a fairly deep RPG style game and will need potentially 1000s of events in total.

I'm sure others have been in my position before and I'm curious how they handled it, I am thinking I can perhaps just make most layouts/event sheets work independently from each other for testing purposes, and I can pretty simply just join them together when needed, maybe with a few minor tweaks, but not so much effort.

For example, I'd put the level up code all in 1 layout/event sheet, then all the pause mechanics into it's own separate file, etc... Is this practical? Is there a better way? Thanks.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • This is pretty much how I'm developing my game. Removing core aspects for new Layouts or new project folders completely. The idea is that I can still have everything built, and if the game gets successfully Kickstarted I could just buy a license and piece it all together easily. Other than Event count annoyance, I have not run into any limitations with the Free edition.

• I would ask myself if the price is worth the time to put all those sheets together later on down the road. I know for even my ~500 events system it would be a pain to glue all the sheets together from separate projects. Having to make sure all the references to objects and globals are in each game solution would be a mess.

My advice would be to save yourself a lot of time and invest in yourself, not the game you building. Buy a license!