How do I move an sprite up/down on touch?

0 favourites
  • 9 posts
From the Asset Store
This is a code so you can see the same skin on all screens (peers). Each peer gets a skin, in addition to 4 directions t
  • Hello!

Noob alert here!

I'm just getting started with a mobile concept I have, and I'm stumped at the first hurdle

I would like to tap on the left of the block to move the block up smoothly, like a jump and tap on the right of it to make it fall to ground quickly.

I'd applied 8-direction behaviour to the block, and added a touch object and added to empty sprites as the touch target objects.

In the event sheet I am looking for a touch on the objects and then setting either the Sprite.Y position to it's normal position, or 200 pixels above and I duplicated the same for mouse for testing in browser.

However, nothing happens! If I add another action like to set a negative gravity it works, so I can see the touch/mouse events are firing, they're just not moving my block!

Hopefully it is just something dumb on my part, my project is attached.

• Your instructions are a bit vague as to the result you are after. There are many ways to move a Sprite around, and a few plugins that help a lot too (litetween, easetween, moveto).

Since you used the Physics Plugin, here is an example capx that acts the way I interpret your post.

• Try Construct 3

Develop games in your browser. Powerful, performant & highly capable.

Try Now Construct 3 users don't see these ads
  • Hi,

Thanks for your response. Sorry I didn't feel they were vague instructions!

Simply, when the left side is tapped I want the green block (Sprite2) to jump 'up' smoothly by 200 pixels. Then if the right side is tapped it will return to its normal position.

In other words, tap the left side of the screen to jump, tap the right to cancel your jump.

Unfortunately I cannot use your file because it is from a newer version.