How do I create a timed item collection quest

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Fully commented source code/event sheet & sprites to create a space shooter game
  • hello! I'm new to construct 2, and I'm doing a platformer for a class, but our teacher doesn't know how to use construct except for the basics, and I only have previous experience in simple events in UDK so I'm getting nowhere : (

Anyway so my question is how to create a timed item collection quest. Like the player must collect pieces of heart and complete the heart before time runs out, and I'd like for a UI where the heart changes a bit like a health bar everytime you pick a piece. I'm guessing I'd go about that with different sprites and toggling their visibility? I'm just so lost and running out of time u_u

sorry and thanks!

• fukairi - well, timers are easy once you understand them. Make a global variable HeartTimer=0 and Every Tick->add dt to HeartTimer. This will keep track of game time. Keep track of when you've collected all the heart pieces and compare HeartTimer to the time goal.

You can have one sprite for heart and give it a few different animations depending on how many heart pieces are collected.

• fukairi - well, timers are easy once you understand them. Make a global variable HeartTimer=0 and Every Tick->add dt to HeartTimer. This will keep track of game time. Keep track of when you've collected all the heart pieces and compare HeartTimer to the time goal.

You can have one sprite for heart and give it a few different animations depending on how many heart pieces are collected.

Okay I figured out how to make the heart work more or less (on it's own, not attatched to an even mind you because I don't understand this program)