Crawling (And other animations that require 2 keys)

0 favourites
  • 5 posts
From the Asset Store
Piano Keys
$3.99 USD
A musical typing game where the goal is to play a song by pressing the matching keys as fast as you can!
  • Very simple question, sorry about this.

I've got a character who can crouch, but I'm a little confused about how to get her to crawl.

Here's my events sheet so far, sorry if it's a little unorganized/unusual, this is my first level:

But yeah, basically I'm unsure about where to start really, how do I make my character use it's "crawl" animation when moving left/right if I'm holding the 'down' key?

• Hi. I'm very new to Construct 2 so sorry if mine isn't the best solution, hopefully somebody with more experience will come along and help with your query or vouch for my solution.

From my point of view an easy way to do this would be to make an instance variable called "Crawl". Just set it to 1 when the down arrow is pressed and then you can call on the animation group that relies on "Crawl" being set to 1. All other animations would play when "Crawl" is set to 0. You can add a condition that states that the character must be on the floor to avoid weird instances of the player crouching in mid air...unless you want to allow that for whatever reason.

On a separate note I'm a bit confused why you used "On Down arrow pressed" to start crouching instead of "On Down arrow is down". The former would make it so when you let go of the down key the character would still be crouching but the later would stop the crouch as soon as the key is released (which is what I assume you want to do based on the very last event). Then again maybe you tried that already and something went terribly wrong.

• Thanks very much for your response!

It sounds super helpful... however, when it comes to visual scripting (or any kind of scripting really), I usually find myself asking some very basic questions, I hope you don't mind!