Action RPG Engine?

This forum is currently in read-only mode.
From the Asset Store
All you need to create an action RPG game, the Gamepack features sprites destined for instant use !
  • Hello! Unfortunately this is a introduce/example/help request thread all in one! I thought I'd post it here as I am uploading an example of my work with Construct so far. (BTW, I've spent a total of 30 minutes working on this example.)

*Skip down to the bottom for a clue as to what this thread is about without having to read the boring stuff.*

So, first, my name is Wesley. I've been an amateur game maker for almost 8 years. I started with the RPGMaker series and I recently decided to find something new to use as the programs are severely limited with what I need to do. (For example, pixel-based collisions and movement. I hate grid based movement.)

I spent about an hour looking up tutorials and especially the Platform tutorial. I found that quite understandable for the most part. But, I've never really been a fan of platforming games (aside from Metroid) so, I thought I'd work on something different as a way to break myself into the program. I'm a big fan of the Zelda series (and any game of the 2D action/RPG style) and I thought, "It may be worth a shot to give a Zelda engine a go. I don't mean to rip off the series but I figured, once you get the main systems down, everything else is basically plug and play.

So here's what I've got:

1. Controllable character (a necessity, obviously)

I use the sprite Hero_Det(ect) to control where the actual player sprite goes. I use an 8 Directional behavior on Hero_Det and have the Hero sprite mirror it's X and Y. Reason being, in Zelda games, there's usually some force like wind or a conveyor than moves the player. By using the Hero_Det sprite, I can allow the 'force' to detect the when Hero_Det, which is actually only a 16x4 sprite in a bounding box of 24x32 (the same as the hero sprite) and push the character in a certain direction.